Tabletop games, weird and wonderful

Heirs of the Leviathan – Appendix N

Category:

By

/

5 minutes

read

This is really just an excuse for me to talk a bit about a bunch of books and movies that I like – the main sources that influenced Heirs. In no particular order, and mixing media pretty liberally.

Seven Pillars of Wisdom – T.E. Lawrence

In part a history of the desert war in WW1, in part an autobiography, and what feels in part like a novel, I think this book is astounding – just don’t take it as a work of anthropology.

Lawrence of ArabiaDavid Lean

This is one of my favourite films. It is a film about the death of romance, and being stuck in a game beyond ones control – revered as a hero among people you despise, due to betraying a people you cannot truly comprehend.

Histories – Herodotus

I recommend the Landmark Edition. Herodotus is just a grand old time, even if at times he had no idea what he was talking about.

The Pelopponesian War – Thucydides

This is practically the opposite of Herodotus – much less fun, much less speculation, but a lot more sound. Particularly the Sicilian expedition is exactly what a military disaster in Heirs should feel like.

Cleopatra – Joseph L. Mankiewicz (1963)

This film might not be quite as subversive or interesting as Lawrence of Arabia, but it has a big place in my heart – mainly because of Elizabeth Taylor’s performance, but Richard Burton’s raving Marc Antony, completely unable to live up to Caesar’s legacy, is also great.

The Fall of the KingJohannes V. Jensen

A Danish novel everyone is supposed to have read, I don’t know how well known it is abroad. It is an intimately beautiful, bleak, and psychological novel.

DuneFrank Herbert

It might be science fiction, but noble houses, treason and psychoactive drugs can all have their place in a campaign of Heirs.

Othello – Orson Welles

There are honestly many Shakespeare plays that could be on this list, so I’d rather pick some of my favourite film versions. Welles’ Othello is a pretty straightforward, trimmed version, and it looks great.

Raise the Red Lantern – Zhang Yimou

This might be my absolute favourite film. It is the story of a young woman marrying the lord of a manor, and it is just this absolutely gorgeous tale of fear, jealousy and anger.

The Death of StalinArmando Iannucci

I personally believe every session of Heirs of the Leviathan is one quip away from turning into The Death of Stalin

The Lion in WinterAnthony Harvey

An absolute riot. It might be the least stuffy historical drama I’ve ever seen.

Curse of the Golden FlowerZhang Yimou

By the gods, I love Chow Yun-Fat as a gaslighting emperor. Wuxia has too few of those.

King Lear – Royal Shakespeare Company (2008)

King Lear is my favourite Shakespeare play. I have not watched every single film adaptation (which I suppose I should remedy), but I think the 2008 film (the one with Ian McKellen) is a very good, straight adaptation.

Ran – Akira Kurosawa

This film, also an adaptation of King Lear, is an eminently masterful film – and partly because Kurosawa transplanting it between cultures did not quite understand the character of Lear. Kaede did nothing wrong.

Throne of Blood – Akira Kurosawa

Like Ran, this is an adaption of a Shakespeare play – but of Macbeth. It is a lot more straightforward, but with key visual translations of concepts from the play.

Godfather

I mean, it’s Godfather. I can barely remember what actually happens in the film, but the vibe is on-point.

Oath: Chronicles of Empire and Exile
So, this one is a board game. But it is my favourite board game, the only one I truly think has the scope of a role-playing game, without trying to be one.

Paths of Glory – Stanley Kubrick
Overly ambitious generals, the innocent being punished, and political machinations – this anti-war movie has it all.

Dr. Strangelove – Stanley Kubrick
My favourite film comedy, probably because it gives me the chills – what if the fate of humanity was in the hands of a bunch of buffoons?

There Will Be Blood – Paul Thomas Anderson
It would appear that I have a thing for films about cruel, ambitious, and vindictive old men.

The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula K. Le Guin
I don’t think any other science fiction novel I’ve read truly compares to The Left Hand of Darkness. The reason it is here is because of its approach to depicting power, as something which is almost imperceivable to the outsider.

Rome – (HBO series)
The first season is genuinely great, the second one is a guilty pleasure for me. If you wonder how to handle huge battles in Heirs, watch the Pharsalus episode.

I, Claudius – BBC Series
This show sort of feels like magic. Compared to the shows of our post-Sopranos world, it is quite obviously a sparse production, but relies on great writing and acting.

House of the Dragon (and some A Song of Ice and Fire)
I don’t really know how to feel about HotD and ASoIaF. I feel like I’m done with the setting, but occasionally I just want to watch a sick old man stumble slowly towards a throne, and it delivers.

Salammbo – Gustave Flaubert
I have a sore spot for the ancient world and Roman history in particular, and Salammbo is a wonderful action story with guts, mysticism, and gore, set in the aftermath of the First Punic War.

Dynasty – Tom Holland
I have read a fair few books on ancient history, and I honestly don’t think you become particularly enlightened by this one, it is simply a good time, delving into the particular characters that were the early Roman emperors.

The Darkness that Comes Before – R. Scott Bakker
The whole series is great, but the first one feels the most Heirsy – remove Kellhus from the equation, and you have a perfect cast for a campaign.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started